Free Consultation
No Fees Unless You Collect
Call Us Today 713-677-2159

Your First Four Steps After a Car Accident in Texas

Car AccidentEarly yesterday morning, an 18-year-old was killed tragically when he drove too fast and crashed into a tree—splitting his Mazda in two. Having just left his job at a nearby hamburger place, the victim pulled up to a red light next to a co-worker. Trying to impress him, the high school senior slammed his foot on the gas when the light turned green, losing sight of his coworker in a matter of seconds. According to the Houston Police Department, speed was the reason for the accident. Alcohol was not reported being a factor.

If you’re injured in an accident in Texas, here are the steps you should take:

Step 1: Call 911.
Most importantly, if you are physically able, call 911. Before you can collect any damages, a police report will need to be made. When the police arrive, they will be able to interview both parties, make sure everyone is okay, and get the correct name of the other driver, addresses, and insurance companies involved. Do not admit fault for the accident if there is a chance that you are not responsible.

Step 2: Make Sure You Are Not Injured.
If you’re injured in an accident, do not make any sudden movements, and tell the police that you need an ambulance sent right away. Many times, you may not feel the injuries until a day or two later. If you feel the injuries right away, go to the hospital and tell them what happened. If you don’t feel your injuries until a couple days later, make an appointment with your doctor and report your injuries. Regardless of who you speak to, make sure you follow the treatment they prescribe.

Step 3: Report the Accident.
After you make sure you are in good health, you should call your insurance company and tell them what happened. Typically they will send an adjuster, who will ask you a lot of questions about the incident. Be sure to tell your adjuster why you are not responsible if it is possible that it was not your fault.

Step 4: Hire an Attorney.
If you are injured in a car accident, it would be in your best interest to hire an attorney who is Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Do not try to deal with opposing insurance companies without a qualified attorney by your side. He or she will be able to help you gain compensation for your medical expenses, loss of wages, pain and suffering, and physical impairment.

Call 713-677-2159 for your free consultation.
Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Click to call