Free Consultation
No Fees Unless You Collect
Call Us Today 713-677-2159

Pedestrian Dead after Collision with SUV

A man is dead after an early morning auto-pedestrian incident in north Harris County on Monday. According to the Harris County Sheriff’s Office, the accident happened around 3:30 a.m. when a pedestrian tried to cross from the Southside of W. Mount Houston Road to the northside near I-45. The pedestrian was acting erratically. Witnesses reported several drivers swerving out of the way of the pedestrian before the gray Tahoe struck and killed the man. Harris County Sheriff’s deputies said that the driver of the SUV stayed at the scene. The victim was pronounced dead at the scene. The identity of the victim has not yet been released. However, Harris County Sheriff’s deputies said that he was a middle-aged male who may have been residing at a nearby homeless encampment. Texas law makes it a requirement that anyone who is involved in an accident to stop following the crash or be guilty of hit and run. Anyone who is involved in an accident is also required by Texas law to render aid if possible as well. In the case of an accident involving property damage, injury or death, this is especially true. If the accident involves injuries or death, you are also required by law to provide identification and your personal information, such as your driver’s license and insurance information if it is requested by officials. Police and other law enforcement officers will generally gather this information from everyone at the scene of the accident. Because of this, never drive without your driver’s license and proof of insurance card. If you are involved in an accident, or stopped by law enforcement for any reason, both of these items will be required of you. If the accident involves damage to an occupied vehicle, stop your vehicle as close as possible without obstructing traffic or creating a further hazard. If the accident caused damage to an unattended vehicle, you still need to stop and attempt to locate the driver or owner of the vehicle and provide your contact information to them. If the owner or driver cannot be found, be sure to leave a note in a conspicuous place such as a windshield. Be certain to give all of your contact information, including driver’s license and insurance information and the circumstances of the crash so that you can be contacted. All of these actions are required by law. Failure to comply with them can result in arrest, severe fines, and loss of license and insurance. If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, it is a very good idea to have solid legal counsel on your side. Don’t delay. Call our offices as soon as possible. We will match you with the legal professional who can best handle your case. Our attorneys will sit down with you and discuss your case. We have years of experience in the Houston area and have successfully argued accident cases in the Texas courts. Call us now so that that you can get the compensation and peace of mind that you and your family deserve.

Call 713-677-2159 for your free consultation.
Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Click to call