Free Consultation
No Fees Unless You Collect
Call Us Today 713-677-2159

Pedestrian Struck in Hit-and-Run Accident

A young woman has been hospitalized after a hit and run accident over the weekend in northwest Harris County. According to the Harris County Sheriff’s Office, a 30-year-old woman, who was possibly intoxicated at the time of the accident, walked out onto Highway 6 near Spencer Road at approximately 8:20 p.m. Witnesses report that the woman attempted to cross the southbound lanes when she was struck by a car. Harris County Sheriff’s deputies report that the driver of the suspect vehicle did not stop and did not attempt to render aid. The victim was taken to Memorial Hermann Hospital by Life Flight and is currently listed in critical condition. Failure to stop after hitting another vehicle, bicyclist or pedestrian is a crime. No matter if this woman had been at fault in the accident, or what the ultimate cause of the incident was, the driver should have stopped their vehicle after hitting someone. The charges of hit and run and failure to render aid are very serious in the state of Texas. Hit and run accidents are some of the most tragic accidents in the U.S. Whether it is either indifference on the part of the driver, or fear that would cause a person to run after hitting a pedestrian, motorist or a bicyclist, it will not change the seriousness of the charge when this person is finally caught. What to Do In Case of an Accident The Texas Transportation Code requires that every person involved in an accident stop and take certain actions following the crash. This is especially true in accidents that involve property damage, injury or death. If the accident involves injuries or death, you are required by law to immediately return to the scene of the accident and to render aid. You must also provide your personal information, as well as show your driver’s license and insurance information if it is requested. Law enforcement officers will generally gather all of this information at the scene, so it is a good idea to have it with you at all times in case of an accident or emergency situation. If the accident involves damage to an occupied vehicle, stop as close as possible without obstructing traffic. If the accident has caused damage to an unattended vehicle, you need to stop and locate the driver or owner of the vehicle and provide your contact information. If the owner or driver cannot be found, be sure to leave a note in a conspicuous place such as a windshield, being sure to give all of your contact, license and insurance information and the circumstances of the crash so that you can be contacted. These actions are required by law. Failure to comply with them can result in arrest, severe fines and loss of license. If you or a loved one has been involved in a hit-and-run accident, you need solid legal counsel on your side. Don’t delay. Call our offices as soon as possible. We will match you with the legal professional who can best handle your case. Our attorneys will sit down with you and discuss your case. Most importantly, we have years of experience in the Houston area and have successfully argued accident cases in the Texas courts. Call us now so that that you can get the compensation and peace of mind that you and your family deserve.

Call 713-677-2159 for your free consultation.
Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Click to call